Trade and Investment

​​​​​Trade and Investment


  • Tr​​ade and Investment are considered main engines for growth and development especially for developing countries, LDCs and economies in transition through promoting productive employment, decent job opportunities, reducing poverty, transfer of technology, as well as new business and management models. It's worth noting that almost all the global documents on promoting sustainable development and economic growth, the most important of which are "The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development" and "Addis Ababa Action Agenda of the Third International Conference on Financing for Development", recognize this vital role of trade and investment to enhance global efforts to effectively realize the sustainable development goals.
  • The important role of trade and investment is further highlighted in the current context of global economic slowdown and the continuous downward revision of forecasts for world economic growth. Trade and investment are con​​sidered key instruments to reenergize world economy, achieve the 2030 development agenda and realize the G20 goal of lifting the GDP of its member countries by an additional 2% by 2018.


Egypt efforts to enhance trade and investment:

  • Egypt recognizes the strong correlation between trade and investment and their essential role to realize economic recovery and sustainable and inclusive development on the national, regional and global levels.  
  • In light of the important role of trade and investment, Egypt launched various initiatives to enhance foreign trade and attract foreign investment on its endeavor on achieving economic recovery, the most important of which are:
  • The establishment of the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite Free Trade Area "TFTA" that comprises 26 African countries into the largest economic bloc in the continent, representing half of Africa's GDP and 56% of its population, and considered an indispensable step to establish the continental FTA. The TFTA will provide significant opportunities for foreign and regional investment that will benefit from an improved regional trade regime through decreasing tariff and non-tariff obstacles.
  • Launching different mega investment projects that have a strong developmental dimension and represent significant profitable opportunities for FDIs with the objective of attracting $10 billion foreign investment by the end of the current year in numerous fields, like the Suez Canal Economic Zone Development project, The Golden Triangle project in Upper Egypt that is rich in mineral resources, North Coast development project, the new administrative capital, the reclamation of 1.5 million acres, Besides other promising investment opportunities in renewable energy, road networks, and other fields.
  • Providing a competitive business climate and introducing incentive packages to encourage foreign investment, linked to Egypt's economic and social development plans and priorities, like approving the unified investment law and the continuous tax and subsidy reform.
  • Hosting many reional and international conferences to support cooperation in the fields of trade and investment. Most recently, Egypt hosted the conference of "Africa 2017" to encourage investment in the African continent, which was held during the period from 7 to 9 December in Sharm Sheikh, and with the attendance of leaders, high officials, private sector representatives from Africa and the world. 

​​Egypt priorities at the Trade and Investment track:

  • Improve the Multilateral Trading System (MTS) to promote a universal, open, transparent and predictable trading system. This entails guaranteeing the consistency between regional trade agreements and the MTS under the WTO (that the RTAs complement, not substitute, the MTS). This implies the following:

  • The full and successful implementation of the Doha Development Agenda (DDA) which addresses to a large extent the development concerns of developing countries and LDCs through enhancing the flexibilities granted to these economies in implementing their commitments according to the WTO agreements, implementing provisions concerning the Special and Differential Treatment for developing countries and LDCs, and easier market access for products originating from LDCs.

  • The successful conclusion of the Nairobi Package adopted at the tenth ministerial conference of the WTO, especially the decisions in favor of LDCs, and those related to areas of significant importance to developing countries like public stockholding for food security purposes, Special Safeguard Mechanism, agriculture and e-commerce.

  • Enhancing the integration of developing and least developed economies in world trade mainly through improving the market access conditions for their products and increasing their value addition and participation in value chains.

  • Ensure global investment governance in light of the existence of diverse bilateral and multilateral investment agreements and enhance cooperation and coordination in developing global investment policies so as to strengthen the International Investment Agreements Regime "IIA Regime".

  • Increase foreign investment to Africa and other developing and least developed economies especially in developmental national projects, labor intensive projects and in fields with productive capacity so as to increase their production and export base.​​

التجارة والاستثمار

​​التجارة والاستثمار


تمثل المرحلة القادمة على المستويين قريب الأمد والمتوسط​ أهمية خاصة لمصر، حيث تسعى الحكومة إلى تحقيق معدلات نمو اقتصادي مرتفعة مقترنة بعدالة اجتماعية وتوزيع عادل لثمار هذا النمو، وخلق فرص عمل جديدة للشباب، وتحقيق سياسات اجتماعية واقتصادية طموحة عبر تنفيذ حزمة من المشروعات التنموية الكبرى، وصياغة برامج لرفع القدرات الفنية والإدارية لمختلف قطاعات وأجهزة الدولة، فضلا عن تعزيز وإعادة الثقة في سوق الاستثمار المصري وخلق بيئة أعمال مواتية لجذب مزيد من الاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة.

تعتبر التجارة والاستثمار المحرك الرئيسي للنمو الاقتصاد​ي والتنمية المستدامة وبخاصة للبلدان النامية والبلدان الأقل نموا، والاقتصادات التي تمر بمرحلة انتقالية، حيث تسهم التجارة والاستثمار في تشجيع العمالة المنتجة وفرص العمل الكريم، والحد من الفقر، ونقل التكنولوجيا ونماذج الأعمال والإدارة الرشيدة. ولعل معظم الوثائق التي تم إقرارها دوليا بشأن تعزيز التنمية المستدامة والنمو الاقتصادي و من أبرزها أجندة 2030 من أجل التنمية المستدامة و خطة عمل أديس أبابا حول "التمويل من أجل التنمية" ، شددت على الدور المحوري للتجارة والاستثمار في دفع الجهود العالمية الرامية إلى تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة.

وفي ضوء الدور الهام للتجارة والاستثمار، أطلقت مصر عدة​​​ مبادرات لتعزيز التجارة الخارجية وجذب الاستثمار الأجنبي من أجل تحقيق التنمية الاقتصادية المستدامة، ولعل من أبرزها ما يلي:

  • إنشاء منطقة التجارة الثلاثية الحرة بين تجمعات الكوميسا/وشرق أفريقيا /والجنوب الأفريقي والتي تضم 26 دولة أفريقية تمثل أكبر كتلة اقتصادية في القارة، وهو ما يمثل نصف الناتج المحلي الإجمالي في أفريقيا و 56٪ من ​سكانها، حيث تعتبر خطوة لا غنى عنها لإقامة اتفاقية التجارة الحرة القارية، وتسهم في توفير فرص كبيرة للاستثمار الأجنبي والإقليمي من خلال الاستفادة من تخفيف القيود الجمركية وغير الجمركية بين الدول الأعضاء.​

  • إطلاق العديد من المشاريع الاستثمارية الضخمة ذات الأهداف التنموية ، وذلك بهدف جذب 10 مليارات دولار كاستثمارات أجنبية مباشرة بحلول نهاية العام الحالي ف​​ي العديد من المجالات، مثل مشروع تنمية محور قناة السويس، ومشروع المثلث الذهبي في صعيد مصر، ومشروع الساحل الشمالي للتنمية، ومخطط العاصمة الإدارية الجديدة، واستصلاح 1.5 مليون فدان، إلى جانب الفرص الاستثمارية الواعدة الأخرى في مجال الطاقة المتجددة، وشبكات الطرق، وغيرها من المجالات.

  • توفير بيئة الأعمال الملائمة والإجراءات التحفيزية والإصلاحية مثل إقرار قانون الاستثمار الموحد، والإصلاح الضريبي وإصلاح منظومة الدعم بهدف تشجيع الاستثمار الأجنبي وثيق الصلة بخطط التنمية الاقتصادية و​​الاجتماعية في مصر والأولويات الوطنية ذات الصلة.

  • استضافة العديد من المؤتمرات الإقليمية والدولية من أجل دعم وتعزيز التعاون في مجالات الاستثمار والتجارة، وآخرها استضافة مصر لمؤتمر أفريقيا 2017، والذي عقد خلال الفترة من 7 إلى 9 ديسمبر 2017 في شرم الشيخ، وبحضور عدد من رؤساء وقادة الدول، وكبار المسئولين، وممثلي القطاع الخاص في أفريقيا والعالم.​   


وتتمثل الأولويات الم​​صري على صعيد مسار التجارة والاستثمار الدولي فيما يلى:​

  • تحسين نظام التجارة متعدد الأ​​طراف، من خلال تعزيز نظام تجاري عالمي منفتح وشفاف ويمكن التنبؤ به. وهو ما يستوجب ضمان الاتساق بين اتفاقات التجارة الإقليمية والنظام التجاري متعدد الأطراف في إطار منظمة التجارة العالمية (أن اتفاقيات التجارة الإقليمية تكمل، وليست بديلا، للنظام التجاري المتعدد الأطراف).

  • تعزيز جهود دمج الاقتصادات النامية والأقل نموا في التجارة العالمية بشكل رئيسي من خلال تحسين ظروف وصول منتجاتها إلى الأسواق وزيادة القيمة المضافة ومشاركتهم في سلاسل القيمة المضافة.

  • ضمان حوكمة نظم الاستثمار العالمية في ضوء وجود أنماط مختلفة لاتفاقات الاستثمار الثنائي ومتعدد الأطراف، وتعزيز التعاون والتنسيق في وضع السياسات الاستثمارية العالمية من أجل تعزيز نظا​م اتفاقات الاستثمار الدولية.

  • زيادة الاستثمار الأجنبي الموجه إلى أفريقيا وغيرها من الاقتصادات النامية والأقل نموا، وخاصة في المشاريع الوطنية التنموية والمشروعات كثيفة العمالة وفي المجالات ذات القدرة الإنتاجية العالية وبما يسهم في زيادة الإنتاج في تلك الدول وتو​​سيع قاعدتها التصديرية. ​​

​​