Peacekeeping & Conflict Resolution

​​​Egypt ​Role in Peacekeeping Operations​​​​


First: Egypt's contribution in peacekeeping missions:

  • Egypt supports cooperation between the United Nations and regional organizations with a view to keep international peace and security. Egypt maintains a leading position amongst the contributing countries to UN Peacekeeping Missions. Since its first participation in the 1960 UN peacekeeping Mission in the Republic of Congo (ONUC), It contributed to a total of 37 peacekeeping missions with more than 30 thousand troops who carried out their tasks in  maintaining international peace and security in 24 countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Europe.
  • From this perspective, Egypt aims to enhance and enlarge its contribution to UN Peacekeeping missions with its various military, police and civilain components. Egypt has recently ascended to the top 10 contributing countries to UN Missions, as it currently provides troops and civilian elements to the following missions: The African Union/UN Hybrid operation in Darfur (UNAMID), The United Nations Organization Stabilization Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUSCO), The United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali (MINUSMA), The United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in the Central African Republic (MINUSCA), The United Nations Mission in the Republic of South Sudan (UNMISS), The United Nations Mission in Liberia (UNMIL), The United Nations Mission for the Referendum in Western Sahara (MINURSO).

Second: the African Standby Force "ASF" (The North African Regional Capacity "NARC:

  • Egypt participates in the activation efforts of the African Standby Force "ASF" since its inception in 2005, including its participation in the "AMANI AFRICA II" Exercise and its related workgroups and military maneuvers and exercises; it seeks in this framework to activate the role of the North African Regional Capacity "NARC" in the framework of the ASF, in light of the growing trend towards strengthening regional peacekeeping capacities. Egypt hosts, in this context, the NARCs brigade command headquarters, and one of its two administrative bases; it also nominates armed forces and Interior Ministry officers to work in the planning element of the Capacity's Secretariat, in addition to organizing a number of training courses for the military, police, and civilian elements of the Capacity's Member States at The Cairo Center for Conflict Resolution and Peacekeeping in Africa, being a center of excellence for training in the continent and the NARC accredited training center.
  • As Egypt seeks to activate the NARC, restore its ordinary course of action, and bring it to the progress level achieved by the other Capacities of the African Standby Force after the Capacity's work has been suspended since 2011, the meeting of the NARC Member States' defense ministers was held in Addis Ababa on November 25 to 29, 2015, during which Egypt received the Capacity's presidency from Algeria as of 29/11/2015 for a year, at the end of the NARC fourth ministerial meeting which took place after a five-year hiatus. The meeting issued an action plan to complete the Capacity's activities so that it could allow its harmonization with the current regional circumstances. Egypt's NARC presidency already started to seek the completion of its membership, to activate the role of all the rest of the region's countries, in addition to developing aspects related to capacity building, and mobilizing the necessary funding; besides communicating with the other regional Capacities to apply the lessons learnt and push for cooperation among all those mechanisms affiliated with the African Standby Force.
  • In the framework of the approval by the NARC Sixth ministerial meeting on a number of recommendations to develop NARC action, including the holding of six workshops in order to achieve the full operation of the NARC and the completion of its components' activities, the Egyptian presidency currently seeks, in coordination with the NARC Executive Secretariat in Tripoli, to hold the workshops, and offered using the CCCPA facilities as being the accredited training Center by the African Union for the NARC, as follows:
  • Workshop on the status and style of deployment of the African Standby Force.
  • Workshop related to the police component.
  • Workshop related to the military component.
  • Workshop related to the civil component.
  • Workshop on military observers.
  • Workshop on strategic transport requirements.
  • Egypt pursues its endeavors to complete the NARC membership to include all the region's countries. It believes that 2016 represents a unique opportunity to assess the African Standby Force, the main mechanism for peacekeeping within the African Union, in the context of the United Nations review of the peacekeeping operations and the special political missions, including in terms of cooperation between the United Nations and regional organizations, topped by the African Union, especially considering the magnitude of the challenges facing our glorious African continent, as there is a quantitative change on one hand, given the large number of conflicts and disputes, on the other hand, there is a qualitative change, as the nature of conflicts evolve, with the rising threat of terrorist organizations and armed groups, which imposes on everyone to be vigilant, to mobilize efforts to promote the African peace and security structure, and to upgrade the African peace and security mechanisms, especially the African Standby Force which is taking today a further step towards full activation.
  • Egypt, through its membership in the Security Council as elected to represent the African continent, and through its position as rapporteur of the UNGA special Committee for Peacekeeping Operations, raises the banner of the African contributions in maintaining international peace and security within the UN.
  • Egypt's presidency of the NARC coincides with the presidency of the African Association of the peacekeeping training Centers by The Cairo Center for Conflict Resolution and Peacekeeping in Africa, being another path by which Egypt contributes to strengthen African coordination and cooperation. The past year witnessed an upswing of the CCCPA in this area, as it hosted the training course for the African Peace Support Operations cadres, in addition to holding the training courses of the UN peacekeeping operations cadres, so as to build an additional bridge between the African Union and the United Nations.


Third: the African Capacity for Immediate Response to Crises (ACIRC):​

  • The African Capacity for Immediate Response to Crises (ACIRC) consists of voluntary military contributions from the African Union Member States willing to, as being a standby force for immediate response which units are stationed in the contributing countries and are deployed in conflict zones according to a decision by the African Peace and Security Council or at the request of the concerned State, in accordance with a strengthened mandate including the authority to use force.
  • The process of establishing ACIRC evolved since the adoption by the AU Summit in May 2013 of its creation decision as a transitional arrangement until the fully operational phase of the African Standby Force. 14 countries have so far pledged to contribute military troops to the ACIRC (Egypt / South Africa / Uganda / Tanzania / Chad / Burundi / Mauritania / Algeria / Senegal / Niger / Ethiopia / Angola / Sudan / Burkina Faso).
  • Egypt has pledged to contribute to the "ACIRC" with a second-level field hospital or with elements of military engineers, command officers, and training programs, as it pursues national engaging in supporting African peace and security structures. Egypt also hosted a delegation of the cell concerned with the ACIRC action at the AU Commission from February 16 to 19, 2015 in the framework of consultations with the States which pledged to provide military units to run the Capacity. During the visit, Egypt affirmed keenness to enhance its involvement in the African Union mechanisms to maintain peace and security with their different levels.
  • Two officers from the Ministry of Defense participate in the ACIRC cell at the headquarters of the African Union in Addis Ababa since August 2015.
  • The relationship between the African Standby Force and the ACIRC was the main subject of the debate during an extraordinary meeting of the AU Technical specialized Committee for defense, safety and security in December 2015, in order to assess the continental field training, in light of some African countries endeavors to merge the Capacity in the ASF's Rapid Deployment Capability (RDC), while other countries stressing ACIRC transitional nature and thereby its dissolution and giving priority to achieve a fully operationalized African Standby Force with all its components.

Fourth: Egypt's initiatives within the framework of the African peace and security structure:​​

  • Stemming from Egypt's awareness that maintaining regional peace and security is not only confined to peacekeeping, but also extends to preventive diplomacy before the outbreak of conflicts, then peace-building after reaching comprehensive settlement agreements, Egypt has proposed two initiatives to further activate the African peace and security structure, namely the initiative to establish the African Union Center for Post Conflict Reconstruction and Development "AUC-PCRD", and the establishment of a unit for mediation support and conflict prevention within the AU Commission structure.
  • With its accession to the African Union Peace and Security Council in April 2016, Egypt will spare no effort to provide all its available potential through its membership of the Council, in order to contribute to maintaining regional peace and security in our glorious continent, and in response to the aspirations of our African peoples for peace, stability, and prosperity.

​Fifth: Egypt's support for cooperation between the United Nations and regional organizations for maintaining international peace and security:​​

  • Supporting international peace and security maintenance efforts at the international and regional levels, paying attention to elaborating policies and concepts related to peacekeeping on the United Nations and the African Union levels, contributing in peacekeeping and peace building review process, via hosting in Cairo of both the Arab regional peacekeeping consultations in March 2015, and the workshop on the regional dimension of peace building in Africa in November 2014, thus becoming the only city that brought together such two events, in addition to organizing the Member States workshop at the League of Arab States on "the future of the UN peace and security structure", in the framework of preparations for the initiative by the President of the UNGA to convene a high-level thematic debate in New York in May 2016.
  •  The importance of strengthening joint cooperation between the United Nations and the African Union for conflict prevention and resolution in line with the provisions of Chapter VIII of the UN Charter, from the standpoint of enhancing the United Nations efforts to support the capacity building of the African Union and sub-regional organizations in the field of preventive diplomacy, including mediation, early warning, and post-conflict reconstruction and development. Egypt took the initiative by launching "the Forum of peace envoys to Africa" in 2010 which it hosted for two consecutive years, and was the first framework bringing together the heads of UN peacekeeping operations and special political missions, with their counterparts appointed by the African Union, aiming to harmonizee peacemaking and peace-building policies, on the UN and continental scales.
  •  Egypt's interest in the subject of the African countries capacity building in the peace and security areas, in the context of endeavors aiming to improve the potential of the continent's human cadres, as well as through training courses held by the Egyptian Agency for Development and The Cairo Center for Conflict Resolution and Peacekeeping in Africa.​

حفظ السلام وحل النزاعات

مصر وعمليات حفظ السلام  


أولا: المشاركة المصرية ببعثات حفظ السلام:​​

  • تدعم مصر التعاون بين الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الإقليمية لصيانة السلم والأمن الدوليين. وتظل مصر فى مُقدمة الدول الداعمة لعمليات حفظ السلام التابعة للأمم المتحدة منذ إسهامها الأول في عملية حفظ السلام فى الكونغو عام 1960، لتشارك بعد ذلك فى إجمالي 37 بعثة حفظ سلام بأكثر من 30 ألف فرداً قاموا بأداء مهامهم تجاه صون السلم والأمن الدوليين فى 24 دولة بأفريقيا وآسيا وأمريكا اللاتينية وأوروبا.
  • ومن هذا المنطلق تسعى مصر إلى توسيع نطاق مساهمتها في عمليات حفظ السلام التابعة للأمم المتحدة بمكوناتها العسكرية والشرطية والمدمنية المختلفة، وقد استطاعت بالفعل أن ترتقي في الأونة الأخيرة إلى مرتبة أكبر عشر دول مساهمة في هذه العمليات على مستوى العالم، في ظل مساهمتها الحالية في:  البعثة الهجين بدارفور "UNMAID"، وبعثة "MONUSCO" فى الكونغو الديمقراطية، وبعثة "MINUSMA" فى مالى، وبعثة "MINUSCA" فى إفريقيا الوسطى، وبعثة "UNMISS" فى جنوب السودان، وبعثة "UNMIL" فى ليبيريا، وبعثة "MINURSO" فى الصحراء الغربية.

ثانيا: القوة الإفريقية الجاهزة "ASF" (قدرة إقليم شمال أفريقيا "NARC").​

  • تُشارك مصر فى جهود تفعيل القوة الأفريقية الجاهزة منذ نشأتها عام 2005، بما فى ذلك المشاركة فى تدريب "AMANI AFRICA II" ومجموعات العمل والمناورات والتدريبات العسكرية المُرتبطة بها، وتسعى فى هذا الإطار لتفعيل دور قدرة إقليم الشمال بالقوة "NARC" فى إطار القوة الأفريقية الجاهزة "ASF"، فى ظل التوجه المُتنامى نحو تعزيز قدرات حفظ السلام الإقليمية. وتستضيف مصر فى هذا الإطار مقر قيادة اللواء التابع لقدرة الإقليم، وإحدى قاعدتيها الإداريتين، وترشح ضباط من القوات المسلحة ووزارة الداخلية للعمل بعنصر التخطيط التابع لأمانة القدرة، علاوة على تنظيم عدد من الدورات التدريبية للعناصر العسكرية والشرطية والمدنية للدول الأعضاء بالقدرة بمركز القاهرة الإقليمى للتدريب على تسوية المنازعات وحفظ السلام فى أفريقيا باعتباره أحد مراكز التميز للتدريب فى القارة ومركز التدريب المعتمد لقدرة إقليم شمال أفريقيا.
  • فى إطار سعى مصر لتفعيل قدرة إقليم شمال أفريقيا واستعادة مسار العمل الطبيعى لها والوصول بها إلى مستوى التقدم الذى حققته القدرات الأخرى التابعة للقوة الأفريقية الجاهزة بعد تعطل العمل بالقدرة منذ عام 2011، فقد تم عقد اجتماع وزراء دفاع الدول الأعضاء بالقدرة بأديس أبابا خلال الفترة من 25-29 نوفمبر 2015،  وتم خلاله تسلم مصر لرئاسة القدرة من الجزائر اعتبارً من 29 /11/2015 لمدة عام، فى ختام الاجتماع الوزارى الرابع للقدرة، الذى انعقد بعد خمس سنوات من الانقطاع. وصدر عن هذا الاجتماع خطة عمل لاستكمال أعمال القدرة، بالشكل الذى يسمح بمواءمتها مع الظروف الإقليمية الحالية. وقد بدأت رئاسة مصر للقدرة بالفعل فى العمل على استكمال عضويتها، لتفعيل دور جميع باقى دول الإقليم، إضافة إلى تطوير الجوانب المتعلقة ببناء القدرات، وحشد التمويل اللازم؛ إضافة إلى التواصل مع القدرات الإقليمية الأخرى لتطبيق الدروس المستفادة والدفع نحو التعاون بين جميع تلك الآليات التى تنتمى كلها إلى القوة الأفريقية الجاهزة.
  • وفى إطار اتفاق الاجتماع الوزارى السادس للقدرة على عدد من التوصيات لتطوير عمل القدرة من بينها عقد 6 ورش عمل بهدف تحقيق التشغيل الكامل لقدرة إقليم الشمال واستكمال عمل مكوناتها المختلفة، تسعى الرئاسة المصرية حالياً بالتنسيق مع الأمانة التنفيذية للقدرة بطرابلس لعقد ورش العمل، وعرضت تسخير إمكانات بمركز القاهرة الإقليمى للتدريب على تسوية المنازعات باعتباره مركز التدريب المعتمد من الاتحاد الأفريقى لقدرة إقليم شمال أفريقيا، وذلك كالآتى:
    • ورشة عمل بشأن حال وأسلوب نشر القوة الأفريقية الجاهزة.
    • ورشة العمل المتعلقة بالمكون الشرطي .
    • ورشة العمل المتعلقة بالمكون العسكري.
    • ورشة العمل المتعلقة بالمكون المدني.
    • ورشة العمل حول المراقبين العسكريين .
    • ​​ورشة العمل حول متطلبات النقل الاستراتيجي .  

  • تواصل مصر مساعيها لاستكمال عضوية قدرة إقليم شمال أفريقيا لتضم جميع الدول أعضاء الإقليم. وترى أن عام 2016 يمثل فرصةً فريدةً لتقييم القوة الأفريقية الجاهزة، الآلية الرئيسية لحفظ السلام فى إطار الاتحاد الأفريقى، فى سياق قيام الأمم المتحدة بمراجعة عمليات حفظ السلام، والبعثات السياسية الخاصة، بما فى ذلك ما يتعلق بالتعاون بين الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الإقليمية، وعلى رأسها الاتحاد الأفريقى، خاصة بالنظر إلى حجم التحديات التى تواجه قارتنا الأفريقية الغراء، فهناك تغير كمى من ناحية بالنظر إلى العدد الكبير للصراعات والنزاعات، وهناك من ناحية أخرى تغير نوعى، إذ تتطور طبيعة الصراعات، ويتصاعد تهديد التنظيمات الإرهابية، والجماعات المسلحة، وهو ما يفرض على الجميع اليقظة واستنفار الجهود لتعزيز بنية السلم والأمن الأفريقية، والارتقاء بالآليات الأفريقية للسلم والأمن، وعلى رأسها القوة الأفريقية الجاهزة، التى تخطو اليوم خطوةً أخرى نحو التفعيل الكامل.
  • تحمل مصر، من خلال عضويتها فى مجلس الأمن منتخبةً لتُمثل القارة الأفريقية، وعبر اضطلاعها بمنصب مقرر اللجنة الخاصة لعمليات حفظ السلام بالجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة، رفع راية المساهمات الأفريقية فى صيانة السلم والأمن الدوليين فى السياق الأممى.
  • تتزامن رئاسة مصر للقدرة، مع تولى مركز القاهرة الإقليمى للتدريب على تسوية المنازعات وحفظ السلام فى أفريقيا لرئاسة الرابطة الأفريقية لمراكز التدريب على حفظ السلام، ليكون قناة أخرى تساهم بها مصر لتعزيز التنسيق والتعاون الأفريقى. وقد شهد العام الماضى نشاطاً ملحوظاً لمركز القاهرة فى هذا المجال، إذ استضاف دورة إعداد قادة عمليات دعم السلام الأفريقية، إضافة إلى عقد دورة إعداد قادة عمليات حفظ السلام الأممية، ليبنى بذلك جسراً إضافياً بين الاتحاد الأفريقى والأمم المتحدة. 


ثالثا: القدرة الأفريقية للرد الفورى فى الأزمات "ACIRC":  ​​    

  • تتشكل القدرة الأفريقية للرد الفورى فى الأزمات من مساهمات عسكرية طوعية تُقدمها الدول الراغبة من أعضاء الاتحاد الأفريقى، باعتبارها قوة جاهزة للتدخل السريع تتمركز وحداتها بالدول المساهمة ويتم نشرها فى مناطق النزاعات بناء على قرار يتخذه مجلس السلم والأمن الأفريقى أو بناء على طلب من الدولة المعنية وفق ولاية معززة " تتضمن صلاحية استخدام القوة".   
  • تطورت عملية إنشاء القدرة منذ اعتماد قمة الاتحاد الأفريقي فى مايو 2013 لقرار إنشائها كترتيب انتقالى لحين الوصول إلى مرحلة التشغيل الكامل للقوة الأفريقية الجاهزة. وأعربت 14 دولة حتى الآن عن تعهدات بالمساهمة بقوات عسكرية فى القدرة (مصر/ جنوب أفريقيا/ أوغندا/ تنزانيا/ تشاد/ بوروندى/ موريتانيا/ الجزائر/ السنغال/ النيجر/ إثيوبيا/ أنجولا/ السودان/ بوركينافاسو).
  • تعهدت مصر بالمساهمة فى قدرة "ACIRC" بمستشفى ميدانى من المستوى الثانى أو عناصر للمهندسين العسكريين وضباط  للقيادة وبرامج للتدريب، فى إطار مواصلة الانخراط الوطنى فى دعم هياكل السلم والأمن الأفريقية. كما استضافت مصر وفد من الخلية المعنية بعمل القدرة بمفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقى  خلال الفترة من 16-19 فبراير 2015 فى إطار التشاور مع الدول التى تعهدت بتقديم وحدات عسكرية لتشغيل القدرة،  وتم التأكيد خلال الزيارة على حرص مصر على تعزيز الانخراط بآليات الاتحاد الأفريقى لصون السلم والأمن بمستوياتها المختلفة. 
  • يشارك ضابطان من وزارة الدفاع بخلية قدرة الأسيرك بمقر الاتحاد الأفريقى فى أديس أبابا منذ أغسطس 2015.
  • حظيت العلاقة بين القوة الأفريقية الجاهزة وقدرة الرد الفورى فى الأزمات بالجانب الأكبر من النقاش خلال اجتماع استثنائى للجنة الفنية المتخصصة للدفاع والسلامة والأمن التابعة للاتحاد الأفريقى فى ديسمبر 2015 من أجل تقييم التدريب الميدانى القارى، فى ضوء مساعى بعض الدول الأفريقية بدمج القدرة فى قوة الرد السريع RDC التابعة للقوة الأفريقية الجاهزة، وتأكيد دول أخرى على الطابع الانتقالى للقدرة وبالتالى حلها وإعطاء الأولوية لتحقيق التفعيل الكامل للقوة الأفريقية الجاهزة بكافة مكوناتها.


رابعاً – مبادرات مصر فى إطار بنية السلم والأمن الأفريقية:​

  • إدراكاً من مصر بأن صيانة السلم والأمن الإقليميين لا يقتصر على الشق الخاص بحفظ السلام فقط، بل يمتد إلى الدبلوماسية الوقائية قبل اندلاع الصراعات، ثم بناء السلام بعد التوصل إلى اتفاقات التسوية الشاملة، فقد طرحت مصر مبادرتين لزيادة تفعيل بنية السلم والأمن الأفريقية، منها مبادرة إنشاء مركز الاتحاد الأفريقى لإعادة الإعمار والتنمية فى مرحلة ما بعد النزاعات "AUC-PCRD"، وإنشاء وحدة لدعم الوساطة والوقاية من النزاعات بهيكل مفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقى.
  • مع انضمام مصر إلى مجلس السلم والأمن بالاتحاد الأفريقى فى أبريل 2016، فإنها لن تَدّخِر جهداً فى تسخير كافة الإمكانات المتوفرة لديها من خلال عضويتها بالمجلس، بهدف المساهمة فى صيانة السلم والأمن الإقليميين فى قارتنا الغراء، واستجابة لتطلعات شعوبنا الأفريقية فى السلم والاستقرار والرفاهية.


خامساً - دعم مصر للتعاون بين الأمم المتحدة والمنظمات الإقليمية فى مجال صيانة السلم والأمن الدوليين:

  • دعم جهود صون السلم والأمن على المستويين الدولى والإقليمى، والاهتمام ببلورة السياسات والمفاهيم ذات الصلة بحفظ السلام على مستوى الأمم المتحدة والاتحاد الأفريقي، والإسهام فى عملية المراجعة الخاصة لحفظ السلام وبناء السلام، من خلال استضافة القاهرة لكل من المشاورات الإقليمية العربية لحفظ السلام فى مارس 2015، وورشة العمل الخاصة بالبعد الإقليمى لبناء السلام فى أفريقيا فى نوفمبر 2014، فأصبحت المدينة الوحيدة التى جمعت بين مثل هذين الحدثين، إضافة إلى تنظيم ورشة العمل للدول الأعضاء فى جامعة الدول العرب​ية بشأن "مستقبل بنية السلم والأمن الأممية، فى إطار الإعداد لمبادرة رئيس الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة لعقد نقاش مواضيعى رفيع المستوى فى نيويورك فى مايو 2016 ".
  • أهمية تعزيز التعاون المشترك بين الأمم المتحدة والاتحاد الأفريقى لمنع اندلاع النزاعات وتسويتها اتساقاً مع أحكام الفصل الثامن من ميثاق الأمم المتحدة، من زاوية تعزيز جهود الأمم المتحدة لدعم بناء قدرات الاتحاد الأفريقى والمنظمات دون الإقليمية فى مجال الدبلوماسية الوقائية، بما فى ذلك الوساطة والإنذار المبكر وإعادة الإعمار والتنمية فى مرحلة ما بعد النزاعات. وقد كانت مصر صاحبة المبادرة بإطلاق "ملتقى مبعوثى السلام إلى أفريقيا" في 2010، واستضافته لعامين متتاليين، وكان أول إطار يجمع رؤساء عمليات حفظ السلام والبعثات السياسية الخاصة للأمم المتحدة، مع نظرائهم المعينين من الاتحاد الأفريقى، بهدف تنغيم سياسات صنع وحفظ وبناء السلام، على الصعيد الأممى والقارى.
  • اهتمام مصر بموضوع بناء قدرات الدول الأفريقية فى مجالات السلم والأمن، فى إطار جهود الارتقاء بإمكانات الكوادر البشرية للقارة، وذلك من خلال الدورات التدريبية التى تقوم بها الوكالة المصرية للتنمية ومركز القاهرة الإقليمى للتدريب على تسوية المنازعات وحفظ السلام فى أفريقيا.​