Human Rights

​Egypt and Human Rights:

 

  • The Foreign Ministry's interaction with human rights issues at the international level is stemmed from an integrated vision which is premised on establishing channels of dialogue and cooperation with the various stakeholders and relevant mechanisms. It also reflects the special attention that Egypt attaches to these issues and its respect for international human rights conventions and its international commitments in this regard clearly enshrined in the Egyptian constitution.

  • The President of the Republic took office in July 2014 underscoring Egypt's vision and commitment in this regard, especially with the ongoing preparations in the run up to the country’s participation in the Universal Periodic Review mechanism of the Human Rights Council, the highest organ within the United Nations concerned with human rights issues. This mechanism involves a comprehensive assessment of the human rights issues and records in all the United Nations Member States, including all international rights and obligations related to civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights, based on three reports (the national report provided by each State / the UN Report containing the views of the human rights treaty bodies and the special mandate holders/ the Report of stakeholders in the State under review including national human rights institutions and non-governmental organizations, which is the National Council for Human Rights as for Egypt).

  • The Human Rights Council discussed the various dimensions of the Egyptian report, as well as the data and assessment of the situation in Egypt provided by the UN mechanisms and the human rights institutions. The review process ended with the adoption of the Egyptian government's report in line with the appreciation expressed by Member States for the achievements realized in terms of the democratization process in Egypt, and the Egyptian State actions aimed at ensuring consistency of the national legal structure with Egypt's international obligations, providing the necessary protection for the various rights of its citizens, including civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights, and extending the protection network to encompass all sectors of society, as Egypt accepted 82% of the recommendations submitted to it, which asserts the openness of the Egyptian State to interaction with the various proposals presented to it, and studying them methodologically in order to maximize their benefits, while engaging in parallel in enhancing the national agenda to protect the Egyptian citizens’ rights and activating the various constitutional guarantees.

  • Egypt's election to a seat on the UN Human Rights Council in October 2016 demonstrated the international recognition of the steps and measures taken by the country to uphold the values of human rights and the rule of law, and crowned the Egyptian diplomacy’s role and efforts in highlighting the progress achieved in this regard despite the difficult regional state of affairs the Organization witnesses.​

  • Egypt has also devised several initiatives in the context of the work of the Human Rights Council, the Third Committee of the General Assembly, and the United Nations system in general, in an effort to ensure that the structure is developed in a manner that takes into account the Egyptian visions, and achieves in parallel a balance in the international agenda concerned with respecting Human rights so as to reflect the importance of economic, social and cultural issues, and to support the capability of developing countries to face the various challenges, mainly achieving development, social stability, and countering terrorism and organized crime. In this context, Egypt has made a number of initiatives related to the effects of terrorism on enjoying human rights, and the right to work, as well as returning looted capitals to the States from which they were taken, in addition to its coordination with developing countries on various issues in terms of the right to development, alike the human rights to education, to health, to food and poverty reduction.

  • Egypt is an active and effective actor in many human rights treaty bodies, as highly efficient Egyptian experts have participated in a number of these committees, so as to help achieve the required balance in the work of these committees, and ensure concerns of the African, Arab, Islamic and other developing countries are voiced within the UN structure.

حقوق الإنسان

مصر وحقوق الإنسان:​​

​​

  • ينطلق تفاعل وزارة الخارجية مع قضايا حقوق الإنسان على المستوى الدولي من رؤية متكاملة تتأسس على بناء قنوات للحوار والتعاون مع مختلف الأطراف والآليات ذات الصلة، وتعكس الاهتمام الخاص الذي توليه مصر لهذه القضايا، واحترامها لاتفاقياتها وتعهداتها الدولية المرتبطة بحقوق الإنسان والتي عكسها الدستور المصري بشكل كامل.​


  • جاء تولي السيد رئيس الجمهورية منصبه في يوليو 2014، ليؤكد على رؤية والتزام مصر في هذا الإطار، خاصة مع الإعداد لمشاركة مصر في آلية المراجعة الدورية الشاملة بمجلس حقوق الإنسان الذي يعد أرفع جهاز داخل منظمة الأمم المتحدة فيما يتعلق بقضايا حقوق الإنسان. وتتناول الآلية المذكورة تقييم شامل لقضايا وملفات حقوق الإنسان بمختلف الدول أعضاء الأمم المتحدة بما في ذلك كافة الحقوق والالتزامات الدولية المرتبطة بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية، وذلك من خلال ثلاثة تقارير (التقرير الوطني الذي تعده كل دولة / تقرير الأمم المتحدة الذي يشمل آراء اللجان التعاهدية وأصحاب الولايات الخاصة / تقرير المنظمات غير الحكومية والمؤسسة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان بالدولة المعنية بالمراجعة وهي في حالة مصر المجلس القومي لحقوق الإنسان).


  • وناقش مجلس حقوق الإنسان مختلف أبعاد التقرير المصري وما تضمنه من بيانات ومعلومات، وكذلك ما وفرته آليات الأمم المتحدة ومنظمات حقوق الإنسان من بيانات وتقييم للأوضاع في مصر، وانتهت عملية المراجعة إلى اعتماد تقرير الحكومة المصرية بالتوافق مع إعراب الدول عن تقديرها للإنجازات التي تم تحقيقها في سياق عملية التحول الديمقراطي في مصر، وتحركات الدولة وتحركات الدولة لضمان اتساق المنظومة القانونية الوطنية مع التزامات مصر الدولية، ولتوفير الحماية اللازمة لمختلف حقوق مواطنيها بما يشمل الحقوق المدنية والسياسية والاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية، ومد شبكة الحماية لتشمل كافة قطاعات المجتمع، مع قبول مصر لحوالي 82% من التوصيات التي قٌدمت إليها بما يؤكد انفتاح الدولة المصرية على التفاعل مع مختلف المقترحات التي قٌدمت لها ودراستها بشكل منهجي لتعظيم الاستفادة منها، والتزامها في ذات الوقت بالعمل من أجل تعزيز الأجندة الوطنية لحماية حقوق المواطن المصري وتفعيل الضمانات الدستورية المختلفة.


  • وقد جاء انتخاب مصر لعضوية مجلس حقوق الإنسان في أكتوبر 2016 تأكيدا للتقدير الدولي لما تم اتخاذه من خطوات وإجراءات لإعلاء قيم حقوق الإنسان وسيادة القانون في مصر، وتتويجا لدور وجهود الدبلوماسية المصرية في إبراز التقدم المحرز في الشأن على الرغم من الواقع الإقليمي الصعب الذي تعيشه المنظمة.​


  • هذا، وقد تقدمت مصر بالعديد من المبادرات في سياق عمل مجلس حقوق الإنسان، واللجنة الثالثة بالجمعية العامة، ومنظومة الأمم المتحدة بشكل عام، وذلك في إطار السعي لضمان تطوير المنظومة بشكل يأخذ في الاعتبار الرؤى المصرية، ويحقق توازناً في ذات الوقت في الأجندة الدولية المعنية باحترام حقوق الإنسان لتعكس أهمية القضايا الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية، وتدعم قدرة الدول النامية على مواجهة التحديات المختلفة وفي مقدمتها التحديات التنموية وتحقيق الاستقرار الاجتماعي ومكافحة الإرهاب والجريمة المنظمة. وفي هذا السياق، تقدمت مصر بعدد من المبادرات في مجالات أثر الإرهاب على التمتع بحقوق الإنسان والحق في العمل وإعادة رؤوس الأموال المنهوبة إلى الدول التي خرجت منها هذه الأموال، فضلاً عن التنسيق مع الدول النامية فيما يتعلق بالقضايا المختلفة المرتبطة بالحق في التنمية على غرار الحق في التعليم والحق في الصحة والحق في الغذاء والحد من الفقر.


  • تتمتع مصر بحضور مؤثر وفعال بالعديد من اللجان التعاهدية المعنية بحقوق الإنسان، حيث يشارك في بعض هذه اللجان خبراء مصريين على درجة كبيرة من الكفاءة، بما يساعد على تحقيق التوازن المطلوب في عمل هذه اللجان ويضمن تمثيل المواقف الأفريقية والعربية والإسلامية وغيرها من الدول النامية داخل منظومة الأمم المتحدة.