Egypt and the Security Council

Egypt and the Security Council

  • Egypt's non-permanent membership in the Security Council (2016-2017) reaffirms its leading pivotal role as a beacon of stability in the Middle East and Africa, and asserts its rising international stature to global prominence in light of its valuable endeavors aimed at promoting peace and security in the region and the world, and advancing the interests of the Arab, African and other developing countries.
  • Egypt's efforts and actions within the Security Council are always premised on steadfast stances, clear visions, and an unwavering commitment to restoring the region's security and stability given the turbulent regional situation mired in conflicts and plagued with the spread of extremist and terrorist groups and organizations that trade religion for narrow interests, which undermines the concept of the Nation State.
  • In its capacity as a Chair of the UNSC in May 2016 and August 2017, as well as a President of the UN Counter-Terrorism committee, Egypt has achieved a successful leap for its endeavors within the Council aimed at enhancing international efforts to counter extremist ideology and narratives, as the country has succeeded in unanimously adopting the UNSC Resolution 2354 (2017) last May after it was issued as an official document of the Security Council by obtaining unanimous approval of the Committee's members on a Comprehensive International Framework to Counter Terrorist Narratives.
  • While Egypt chaired the Security Council in August 2017, it has also unanimously succeeded in adopting another resolution no 2370 on Preventing terrorists from acquiring weapons, in an initiative as part of its relentless efforts towards advancing the international counter-terrorism agenda within the UN in general, which reflects the special interest Egypt attaches to enhancing counter-terrorism efforts from a comprehensive approach that addresses the various dimensions of the phenomenon and all those who provide it with political, financial and military support, according to the vision clearly outlined by the President of the Republic during his speech before the Arab-Islamic-American Anti-Terrorism Summit in Riyadh.
  • Egypt has managed to uphold the main international references and UN resolutions in support for the Palestinian Cause, and to push forward all efforts aimed at reaching a political solution to the Question that would guarantee the establishment of the Palestinian State on the June 4th 1967 borders, with East Jerusalem as its capital. Egyptian diplomacy has also asserted its priorities and vision with regard to restoring security and stability in the Libyan State and preserving its territorial integrity and national institutions, mainly the Libyan National Army.
  • Egypt's positions with regards to the Syrian crisis and its voting pattern on the pertinent draft resolutions within the Council are stemmed from its national fundamentals and inherent commitment to save our brotherly Syrian people from its long-standing ordeal. Such positions are also aimed at seeking practical and swift formulas to stop the bloodshed, alleviate the aggravated humanitarian situation, and bring to an end years of failure in reaching a unified vision for a comprehensive political settlement to the crisis that would preserve Syria's territorial integrity and unity and prevent the descent of its institutions into chaos which would only be of benefit for terrorist organizations.
  • Egypt's membership of the Security Council in parallel with its membership of the African Union Peace and Security Council has provided it with a platform to showcase the pivotal African dimension of its foreign policy and its influential role in addressing the various delicate issues and seeking to settle the Continent's disputes.
  • Egypt has successfully affirmed the importance of building a strategic partnership with the African Union in support for peacekeeping and peacebuilding, while taking into account the African concerns, its priorities and independence. This has contributed in advancing our leading role in Africa and in enhancing the efforts of both the Cairo International Center for Conflict Resolution, Peacekeeping and Peacebuilding, and the Egyptian Agency of Partnership for Development.
  • In general, Egypt has demonstrated across its membership in the Council a steadfast stance and independency in defending its positions. It has also proven its ability to voice the concerns of a broad base of the UN members, as Egypt's actions within the Security Council were governed by a firm commitment and genuine keenness to cooperate and seek achieving the required consensus so as to serve international peace and security causes. Such display was highly esteemed by all the regional and international States and parties.​

مصر ومجلس الأمن

​مصر ومجلس الأمن

  • جاءت عضوية مصر غير الدائمة في مجلس الأمن (2016-2017 ( ترسيخاً لدورها الرائد والمحوري كمنارة للاستقرار في الشرق الأوسط وأفريقيا، وتأكيداً لوضعيتها المتصاعدة على المستوى الدولي، في ظل ما تبذله من جهود مقدرة لتعزيز السلم والأمن في المنطقة والعالم، ومن أجل الدفاع عن المصالح العربية والأفريقية وغيرها من الدول النامية.
  • وقد ارتكزت الجهود والتحركات المصرية داخل مجلس الأمن على مواقف ثابتة ورؤى ثاقبة والتزام أصيل تجاه استعادة أمن واستقرار المنطقة في ظل الواقع الإقليمي المضطرب الذي تعيشه واحتدام الصراعات واتساع دائرة التطرف وانتشار الكيانات والجماعات الإرهابية التي تتاجر باسم الدين، بما يؤثر على مفهوم الدولة الوطنية.
  • وحققت مصر خلال فترة رئاستها للمجلس في شهري مايو 2016  وأغسطس 2017، وكذا رئاستها للجنة مكافحة الإرهاب انطلاقة ناجحة لمساعيها في دفع جهود مكافحة خطاب وأيديولوجية الإرهاب داخل المجلس، حيث نجحت مصر في استصدار القرار رقم 2354 من المجلس بإجماع الآراء في مايو الماضي حول الإطار الدولي الشامل لمكافحة الخطاب الإرهابي، والذي سبق أن نجحت في اعتماده بالإجماع كوثيقة رسمية من وثائق مجلس الأمن، كما نجحت مصر خلال رئاستها للمجلس في أغسطس 2017 في اعتماد قرار أخر رقم 2370 بإجماع الآراء حول منع حصول الإرهابيين على السلاح، وهو القرار الذي جاء كمبادرة مصرية في إطار جهودها الحثيثة من أجل الارتقاء بأجندة مكافحة الإرهاب داخل الأمم المتحدة بشكل عام، الأمر الذي يعكس الاهتمام الخاص الذي توليه مصر لتعزيز جهود مكافحة الإرهاب من منظور شامل يتناول مختلف أبعاد الظاهرة وكل من يقدم لها يد المساعدة سياسيا وماليا وعسكريا، ووفقا للرؤية التي طرحها عليها السيد الرئيس خلال القمة الإسلامية العربية الأمريكية بالرياض.
  • ودائما ما كانت القضية الفلسطينية على رأس أولويات العضوية المصرية بالمجلس. ورغم الفشل في تحريك ملف عملية السلام للاعتبارات السياسية المعروفة، والتي فرضت نفسها على أجندة الدول الأعضاء، إلا أن مصر كانت حريصة على الحفاظ على المرجعيات الرئيسية في تناول المجلس للقضية، ومساندة كافة مساعي التوصل تسوية سياسية للقضية تضمن إقامة الدولة الفلسطينية على حدود الرابع من يونيو 1967 وعاصمتها القدس الشرقية.
  • وجاءت مواقف مصر إزاء الأزمة الليبية داخل مجلس انطلاقاً من ثوابتها القومية وحرصها على الحفاظ على وحدة أراضيها ومؤسساتها الوطنية وعلى رأسها الجيش الليبي. وقد عكست المناقشات المتعلقة بالقرارات والبيانات الصادرة عن المجلس حول ليبيا محورية دور مصر ورؤيتها في التعامل مع هذا الملف
  • وبالمثل نجحت الدبلوماسية المصرية في تأكيد وتوضيح رؤيتها إزاء سبل حل الأزمة السورية وإنقاذ الشعب السوري الشقيق من محنته الممتدة، وهو ما انعكس في نمط التصويت المصري على مشروعات القرارات المرتبطة بالأزمة داخل المجلس. كما وظفت مصر دورها كمسئولة عن الملف الإنساني السوري بالاشتراك مع إسبانيا ونيوزيلندا خلال العام الأول من عضويتها بالمجلس، ثم السويد واليابان خلال العام الثاني، لإبراز تردي الأوضاع الإنسانية هناك والعمل على إيجاد صيغ عملية وفورية لوقف نزيف الدماء والتخفيف من معاناة الشعب السوري، خاصة بعد نجاح الاتصالات المصرية في تسهيل وصول المساعدات الإنسانية.
  • منحت عضوية مصر بمجلس الأمن بالتزامن مع عضويتها بمجلس السلم والأمن الأفريقي فرصة لإبراز محورية البعد الأفريقي في السياسة الخارجية المصرية ودورها المؤثر في تناول مختلف الملفات الشائكة والعمل على تسوية مختلف النزاعات داخل القارة. وقد استطاعت مصر التأكيد على أهمية بناء شراكة استراتيجية مع الاتحاد الأفريقي لخدمة قضايا حفظ وبناء السلام، وبما يستجيب للشواغل الأفريقية ويراعي أولوياتها واستقلاليتها، الأمر الذي أسهم في تعزيز دورنا الرائد داخل القارة والارتقاء بالجهود التي يقوم بها كل من مركز القاهرة الإقليمي لتسوية المنازعات والوكالة المصرية للشراكة من أجل التنمية.
  • وبذات القدر من الاهتمام والتفاعل مع الموضوعات السياسة، تعاملت مصر مع ملف عمليات الأمم المتحدة لحفظ السلام، انطلاقا من هدف رئيسي يقوم على توسيع حجم ونطاق المساهمات المصرية في تلك العمليات. وقد نجحت مصر بالفعل خلال تلك الفترة في الارتقاء ضمن أكثر ثمان دول مساهمة في هذه البعثات، بمكوناتها العسكرية والشرطية والمدنية المختلفة.
  • كما نجحت مصر خلال فترة رئاستها الأولى للمجلس في مايو 2016 في اعتماد قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 2286 بشأن الرعاية الطبية خلال النزاعات المسلحة، والذي صدر بالإجماع وتبنته 85 دولة أخرى.
  • وفي المجمل، أظهرت مصر خلال عضويتها بالمجلس صلابة واستقلالية في الدفاع عن مواقفها وقدرة على التعبير عن قاعدة واسعة من العضوية العامة لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة. كما حكم التحركات المصرية داخل مجلس الأمن حرص ورغبة أصيلة في التعاون والعمل على تحقيق التوافق اللازم، من أجل خدمة قضايا الأمن والسلم الدوليين، وهو الأمر الذي حظي بتقدير واسع من جانب كافة الدول والأطراف الإقليمية والدولية.