Disarmament and Non-Proliferation

​​ Egypt and ​Disarmament

A. Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMDs)

  • Nuclear disarmament is considered a regional and international priority for Egypt. For decades, Egypt played a main role in advancing nuclear disarmament in the framework of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons. Egypt considers nuclear disarmament an obligation that must be fulfilled by nuclear states in accordance with the commitments stated in Article VI of the non-proliferation treaty.

  • Egypt gives the utmost priority to full nuclear disarmament in a specific timeframe without discrimination and through clear inspection mechanisms. In this context, Egypt strongly supports negotiating a comprehensive international treaty to achieve total nuclear disarmament. One that guarantees there will be no return to possession of such weapons. That happens through a multilateral system characterized by effectiveness to ensure inspection and international supervision.

  • Egypt monitors with concern the nuclear states’ continued adherence to the nuclear deterrence doctrine in their security systems. The role of nuclear weapons in the security and military doctrines of nuclear states did not witness a change as indicated by their reaffirmation that these weapons are the real assurance to their security. This is reflected in the continuation of programs related to modernizing the nuclear weapons arsenal, which illustrates the long term dependency of these states on nuclear weapons. Egypt asserts that the nuclear states’ continued possession of an arsenal of nuclear weapons for the purposes of deterrence, the development of new generations of them, and their continued proliferation in the regions of non-nuclear states undermines the objectives of the non-proliferation treaty.

  • Egypt expresses its concern about the threat posed against humanity by the continued existence of nuclear weapons. It reasserts that complete nuclear disarmament is the only guarantee to combat the use and the threat of the use of these weapons. Egypt demands of all the states non-party to the non-proliferation treaty to quickly join the treaty without any conditions. And to put all of their nuclear facilities under the Safeguards System of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). This is to achieve treaty universality, which constitutes the cornerstone of an international disarmament and nuclear non-proliferation system.

  • As a step towards nuclear disarmament, Egypt supports the objectives and principles of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty to prohibit nuclear weapons explosions or any other nuclear explosions. Egypt was one of the first states to sign the treaty in light of its encouragement of nuclear states to refrain from conducting nuclear tests and to stop the qualitative development of nuclear weapons.

  • Egypt also participated effectively in the historic negotiations for the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons passed on July 7, 2017 at the United Nations headquarters in New York. Egypt was one of 122 states to vote in favor of its passing. The treaty represents one of the most prominent developments in the field of disarmament in recent decades as it stipulated a ban on the development, production, possession, and stockpiling of nuclear weapons, as well as, threatening to use them and installing them in the territory of others.

  • With regards to biological weapons, Egypt ratified the 1925 Geneva Protocol that “prohibits the use of poisonous gases”. It was one of the leading states in signing the Biological Weapons Convention in 1972.


 

B. Establishing a zone free of nuclear weapons and all other weapons of mass destruction (WMDs) in the Middle East

  • Egypt exerted strenuous efforts over decades to reach the complete elimination of nuclear weapons and all other WMDs in the Middle East. Based on its comprehension of the inhumane effects of these weapons and its deep conviction that WMDs would fuel instability in the region, Egypt took the initiative and demanded the establishment of zone free of nuclear weapons and all other WMDs in the Middle East. Egypt has sought reaching this goal not only as a security necessity but also to follow the method used by other regions that have succeeded in establishing zones free of nuclear weapons, which the Middle East should be no exception to.
  • The Middle East region has had a special position in the frame work of the non-proliferation treaty and the process of revising it. The 1995 decision to establish a zone free of nuclear weapons and other WMDs in the Middle East through an effective achievable mechanism was one of the main components included in the treaty’s indefinite extension bundle. This confirms that achieving treaty universality and nuclear disarmament constitute a main component in the treaty’s credibility and effectiveness.
  • After more than two decades since the passing of the 1995 decision regarding the Middle East, it continues to be the only decision passed in the treaty’s review conferences as a special regional case. This reflects the centrality of this issue and the urgent need to address it. To reconfirm this special position, the nuclear non-proliferation treaty’s review conference for the year 2000 reasserted the Middle East centrality. The 2010 Review Conference also called for holding a conference to establish a zone free of nuclear weapons and other WMDs in the Middle East in 2012.


C. Peaceful uses of nuclear energy

  • Egypt asserts the importance of supporting international cooperation in the field of peaceful uses of nuclear energy and maintaining the inalienable right of the states party to the nuclear non-proliferation treaty to develop, research, produce, and use nuclear energy for peaceful purposes in accordance with Article IV of the treaty.
  • Egypt asserts that any measures that would obstruct, whether partially or fully, the complete use of these inalienable rights would disrupt the delicate balance between rights and obligations in the framework of the non-proliferation treaty. This would contradict the treaty’s objective itself and would also increase the gap between the developed and developing states in this field.
  • Egypt expresses its concerns over endeavors that aim to lay down discriminative arrangements to impose additional restrictions in the field of peaceful uses of nuclear energy, which hinders the achievement of the treaty’s objectives.
  • Egypt announced the start of a program to build four nuclear units to generate electricity in accordance with the international standards of nuclear safety and security. It also took the executive steps to establish the first nuclear power plant dependent on Egyptian expertise and capabilities in cooperation with Egypt’s international partners and the IAEA. Egypt has taken some measures to reinforce the legislative, regulatory, and institutional framework in the nuclear sector. Among them was the reformation of the Higher Council for the Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy chaired by the president of the republic and issuing Law 4 for the year 2010 to regulate of nuclear and radiation activities, which established the Egyptian Atomic Energy Authority as an independent regulatory body that oversees the execution of law’s provisions.


D. Traditional weapons

  • Egypt supports the United Nations 2001 program of action to combat the illicit trade of small and light weapons and asserts that it lays a clear framework for the international community’s work in combating the illicit trade of these weapons. The UN’s program of action sets a group measures to be nationally passed with the aim of combating the illicit trade of small and light weapons, which can be reinforced and supported on both the regional and non-regional levels. The program
  • also urges aiding the international community in enabling states to fulfill their obligations in this regard.
  • Egypt has started implementing a number of components of the UN’s program of action before its passing in July 2001. Egyptian law regulated the production and trade of small and light weapons and set measures that should be followed by state institutions to eliminate the illicit trade of these weapons. And in the framework of implementing the program of action, Egypt completely adheres to the principles of international law and the United Nations Charter.

نزع السلاح وعدم الانتشار

مصر ونزع السلاح​​


أولاً: أسلحة الدمار الشامل​​​

  • يُعد نزع السلاح النووى أولوية رئيسية لمصر إقليمياً ودولياً. وقد لعبت مصر لعقود دوراً أساسياً فى الدفع بنزع السلاح النووى، فى إطار معاهدة منع الانتشار النووى، باعتباره التزاماً على الدول النووية يتعين الوفاء به بموجب تعهداتها المنصوص عليها فى المادة السادسة من معاهدة منع الانتشار النووى.

  • وتولى مصر أولوية قصوى لنزع السلاح النووى بشكل كامل فى إطار زمنى محدد ودون تمييز ومن خلال آليات تحقق واضحة. وفى هذا السياق، تدعم مصر بقوة التفاوض على معاهدة دولية شاملة لتحقيق نزع السلاح النووى بشكل كامل وبما يضمن عدم العودة لحيازة تلك الأسلحة، وذلك من خلال نظام متعدد الأطراف يتسم بالفعالية لضمان التحقق والرقابة الدولية.

  • تراقب مصر بقلق استمرار تمسك الدول النووية بعقيدة الردع النووى فى منظوماتها الأمنية، حيث أن دور الأسلحة النووية فى العقيدة العسكرية والأمنية للدول النووية لم يشهد تغيراً، وهو ما يدلل عليه إعادة تأكيد الدول النووية على أن تلك الأسلحة هى الضمانة الحقيقية لأمنها، الأمر الذى ينعكس فى استمرار البرامج ذات الصلة بتحديث مخزون الأسلحة النووية ويوضح الاعتماد طويل الأجل لتلك الدول على الأسلحة النووية. وتؤكد مصر على أن استمرار امتلاك الدول النووية لترسانة من الأسلحة النووية لأغراض الردع وتطوير أجيال جديدة منها واستمرار نشرها فى أقاليم الدول غير النووية تقوض من أهداف معاهدة منع الانتشار النووى.

  • تعرب مصر عن قلقها من التهديد الذى يفرضه استمرار وجود أسلحة نووية على الإنسانية، وتعيد التأكيد على أن الإزالة الكاملة للأسلحة النووية هى الضمانة الوحيدة لمواجهة استخدام أو التهديد باستخدام تلك الأسلحة. وتطالب مصر كافة الدول غير الأطراف بمعاهدة منع الانتشار النووى بسرعة الانضمام للمعاهدة بدون أى شروط، ووضع كافة منشآتها النووية تحت نظام الضمانات الشامل للوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية، لتحقيق عالمية المعاهدة التى تمثل حجر الزاوية لمنظومة نزع السلاح ومنع الانتشار النووى الدولية.

  • تدعم مصر أهداف ومبادئ معاهدة الحظر الشامل للتجارب النووية لحظر ومنع تفجيرات الأسلحة النووية وأى تفجيرات نووية أخرى، وذلك كخطوة نحو نزع السلاح النووى. وقد كانت مصر من أوائل الدول التى وقعت على المعاهدة فى ضوء تشجيعها للدول النووية على الامتناع عن إجراء تجارب نووية ووقف التطوير النوعى للأسلحة النووية.

  •  كما شاركت مصر بفاعلية في المفاوضات التاريخية على معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية التى تم اعتمادها في 7 يوليو 2017 بمقر الأمم المتحدة بنيويورك وكانت من ضمن 122 دولة قامت بالتصويت لصالح اعتمادها. وتمثل معاهدة حظر الأسلحة النووية أحد أبرز التطورات في مجال نزع السلاح خلال العقود الأخيرة حيث نصت على حظر تطوير وانتاج وامتلاك وتخزين الأسلحة النووية والتهديد باستخدامها ووضعها فى أراضى الغير.

  • فيما يتعلق بالأسلحة البيولوجية، قامت مصر بالتصديق على بروتوكول جنيف لعام 1925 الخاص "بحظر استخدام الغازات السامة" وكانت من الدول الرائدة فى التوقيع على اتفاقية حظر الأسلحة البيولوجية عام 1972.



ثانياً: إنشاء منطقة خالية من الأسلحة النووية وكافة أسلحة الدمار الشامل الأخرى فى الشرق الأوسط​​​

  • بذلت مصر جهوداً مضنية على مدار عقود لتحقيق الإزالة الكاملة للأسلحة النووية وكافة أسلحة الدمار الشامل الأخرى فى الشرق الأوسط. ومن منطلق إدراك مصر للآثار غير الإنسانية لتلك الأسلحة، وإيمانها العميق بأن أسلحة الدمار الشامل من شأنها تأجيج عدم الاستقرار بالمنطقة، بادرت مصر بالمطالبة بإنشاء منطقة خالية من الأسلحة النووية وكافة أسلحة الدمار الشامل الأخرى فى الشرق الأوسط. وقد سعت مصر لتحقيق ذلك الهدف ليس فقط باعتباره ضرورة أمنية، ولكن لإتباع ذات المنهج الذى اتبعته العديد من الأقاليم الأخرى التى نجحت فى إنشاء مناطق خالية من الأسلحة النووية، الأمر الذى يتعين عليه ألا يكون الشرق الأوسط استثناء منه.

  • وقد حظيت منطقة الشرق الأوسط، ولا تزال، بوضعية خاصة فى إطار معاهدة منع الانتشار النووية وعملية مراجعتها، حيث جاء اعتماد قرار 1995 بشأن إنشاء منطقة خالية من الأسلحة النووية وكافة أسلحة الدمار الشامل الأخرى فى الشرق الأوسط من خلال آلية فعالة وقابلة للتحقق كأحد العناصر الأساسية ضمن حزمة التمديد اللانهائي للمعاهدة، وهو ما يؤكد على أن تحقيق عالمية المعاهدة ونزع السلاح النووي يمثل مكوناً أساسياً فى مصداقية وفعالية المعاهدة.

  • وبعد مرور أكثر من عقدين على اعتماد قرار 1995 بشأن الشرق الأوسط، لا يزال هذا القرار هو الوحيد الذى تم اعتماده بمؤتمرات مراجعة المعاهدة كحالة إقليمية خاصة، وهو ما يعكس محورية تلك القضية والحاجة الملحة لتناولها. ولإعادة التأكيد على تلك الوضعية الخاصة، أعاد مؤتمر مراجعة معاهدة منع الانتشار النووى لعام 2000 التأكيد على محورية الشرق

  • الأوسط، كما دعا مؤتمر المراجعة لعام 2010 إلى عقد مؤتمر لإنشاء منطقة خالية من الأسلحة النووية وكافة أسلحة الدمار الشامل الأخرى فى الشرق الأوسط عام 2012.


ثالثاً: الاستخدامات السلمية للطاقة النووية​​​​

  • تؤكد مصر على أهمية دعم التعاون الدولى فى مجال الاستخدامات السلمية للطاقة النووية والحفاظ على الحق غير قابل للتصرف للدول الأطراف بمعاهدة منع الانتشار النووى فى تطوير وبحث وإنتاج واستخدام الطاقة النووية للأغراض السلمية على النحو المنصوص عليه بالمادة الرابعة من المعاهدة.
  • تؤكد مصر على أن أى تدبير من شأنه إعاقة الاستخدام الكامل لتلك الحقوق غير القابلة للتصرف، بشكل جزئى أو كلى، من شأنه الإخلال بالتوازن الدقيق بين الحقوق والالتزامات فى إطار معاهدة منع الانتشار النووى بما يتنافى مع هدف المعاهدة ذاتها، كما أنه يعمل على زيادة الفجوة بين الدول المتقدمة والنامية فى هذا المجال.
  • تعرب مصر عن قلقها من أىمساعى تهدف إلى إرساء ترتيبات تمييزية لفرض قيود إضافية فى مجال الاستخدامات السلمية للطاقة النووية بما يعوق تحقيق أهداف المعاهدة.
  • أعلنت مصر عن بدء برنامج لبناء أربع وحدات نووية لتوليد الكهرباء طبقاً للمعايير الدولية للأمان والأمن النوويين واتخاذ الخطوات التنفيذية لإقامة أول محطة نووية لتوليد الكهرباء اعتماداً على الخبرات والقدرات المصرية بالتعاون مع مختلف شركاء مصر الدوليين ومع الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية.وقد اتخذت مصر بعض التدابير لتعزيز الإطار التشريعىوالتنظيمىوالمؤسسى فى القطاع النووى، من بينها إعادة تشكيل المجلس الأعلى للاستخدامات السلمية للطاقة الذرية برئاسة السيد رئيس الجمهورية، وإصدار قانون تنظيم الأنشطة النووية والإشعاعية رقم 7 لعام 2010 والذى أنشأ هيئة الرقابة النووية والإشعاعية كهيئة رقابية مستقلة تشرف على تنفيذ أحكامه.

رابعاً: الأسلحة التقليدية​​

  • تؤيد مصر برنامج عمل الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة الاتجار غير المشروع فى الأسلحة الصغيرة والخفيفة لعام 2001، وتؤكد على أنه يُرسى إطاراً واضحاً لعمل المجتمع الدولى فى مكافحة الاتجار غير المشروع فى تلك الأسلحة.

  • ويضع برنامج عمل الأمم المتحدة مجموعة من التدابير لاعتمادها وطنياً بهدف مكافحة الاتجار غير المشروع فى الأسلحة الصغيرة والخفيفة، والتى يمكن تعزيزها ودعمها على المستويين الإقليمى ودون الإقليمى، كما يحث البرنامج على مساعدة المجتمع الدولى فى تمكين الدول من تنفيذ التزاماتها فى هذا الصدد.

  • وقد بدأت مصر فى تنفيذ العديد من عناصر برنامج عمل الأمم المتحدة قبل اعتماده فى يوليو 2001، حيث نظم القانون المصرى مسألة الإنتاج والتجارة فى الأسلحة الصغيرة والخفيفة، ووضع إجراءات يتعين إتباعها من قبل مؤسسات الدولة للقضاء على الاتجار غير المشروع فى تلك الأسلحة، وفى إطار تنفيذ برنامج عمل الأمم المتحدة، تراعى مصر بشكل كامل مبادئ القانون الدولى وميثاق الأمم المتحدة