Combating Human Trafficking and Illegal Immigration

Migration, Refugees and Human Trafficking:

On the national level:​​

• The Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Affairs works in its capacity as a member of the National Coordinating Committee on Preventing and Combating Illegal Immigration and the National Coordinating Committee for Combating Human Trafficking in partnership with all stakeholders concerned with the issue of migration, such as the Ministry of Manpower and Immigration, the Ministry of Higher Education, the Ministry of Information, the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Local Development and other sectors concerned with addressing migration-related issues. The aforementioned committees aim to qualify national capabilities to deal with their relevant issues, as well as to prepare studies in order to identify the phenomenon and its dimensions and treat it at its core.

• The Ministry of Foreign Affairs coordinates with the relevant international organizations and the concerned government agencies on issues of migration, asylum and combatting human trafficking, as the Foreign Ministry is the official contact point in charge.

​On the International and Regional Levels:​​​​

• Egypt emphasizes the importance of combating illegal migration in the framework of collective cooperation under the principle of shared burden and responsibility and away from unilateral endeavors.

• Egypt actively and effectively participates in the AU-Horn of Africa Counter Trafficking Initiative, and the EU Horn of Africa Migration Route Initiative known as the Khartoum Process, on migratory routes, and combating human trafficking and smuggling in cooperation with the concerned African countries in this regard.

• Egypt hosted the 2nd Ministerial Meeting of the AU-Horn of Africa Initiative on Trafficking in Persons and Smuggling of Migrants in Sharm El-Sheikh in September 2015.

• Egypt participated constructively in the Rome Declaration of November 2014 on the EU Horn of Africa Migration Route Initiative to help the countries of the Horn of Africa fight human trafficking and migrant smuggling. In this context, Egypt hosted the meeting of the Steering Committee issued from the Declaration in April 2015 in Sharm el-Sheikh, as a number of African projects and ideas were introduced for development and addressing the root causes of illegal migration.

• Egypt actively participated in the preparation and drafting process at the Valletta Summit on Migration (November 2015), whereby it took over defending the African view in its capacity as the Chairperson of the two initiatives AU-Horn of Africa and EU-Horn of Africa in coordination with the AU Commission.

• Egypt took over the presidency of the Steering Committee of the Khartoum Process during 2014. The presidency then shifted to Britain in November 2015, then to Ethiopia.

• Egypt participates in the high-level meetings organized by the UN High Commissioner for Refugees on the Syrian refugees, in order to coordinate support for the countries hosting large numbers of Syrian refugees (Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Iraq, and Turkey).

• Egypt has been counted - in light of its hosting of a large number of refugees, including brotherly Syrians – among the States of the Regional Refugee & Resilience Plan in Response to the Syria Crisis released by the United Nations for the neighboring countries hosting Syrian refugees, which is aimed at improving and raising their living conditions and integrating them in their host communities.

• Egypt will host in Luxor in November 2017 the first conference of its kind, which will include all the processes on Migration Routes between Africa and Europe. The conference will focus on combating smuggling of migrants and human trafficking with an emphasis on unaccompanied minors.

مكافحة الاتجار في البشر و الهجرة الغير شرعية

​​

الهجرة واللاجئين ومكافحة الاتجار في البشر


علي الصعيد الوطني:​

  • تعمل وزارة الخارجية المصرية من خلال عضويتها باللجنة الوطنية التنسيقية لمكافحة الهجرة غير الشرعية والاتجار في البشر بالمشاركة مع جميع الجهات المعنية بموضوعات الهجرة مثل وزارة ا​لقوى العاملة والهجرة، وزارة التعليم العالي، وزارة الإعلام، وزارة التربية والتعليم، وزارة التنمية المحلية وغيرها من القطاعات المعنية علي معالجة الموضوعات ذات الصلة بالهجرة. وتعمل اللجان المشار إليها على تأهيل القدرات الوطنية التي تتعامل مع موضوعات اختصاصاتها، وكذلك إعداد دراسات من أجل تحديد الظاهرة وأبعادها ومعالجتها من الجذور.

  • تقوم وزارة الخارجية بالتنسيق فيما بين المنظمات الدولية ذات الصلة والجهات الحكومية المعنية فيما يتعلق بموضوعات الهجرة واللجوء ومكافحة الاتجار في البشر، باعتبار أن وزارة الخارجية هي نقطة الاتصال الرسمية المسئولة.


علي الصعيد الإقليمي والدولي:​​​​

  • تؤكد مصر علي أهمية مكافحة الهجرة غير الشرعية في إطار تعاون جماعي تحت مبدأ تقاسم الأعباء والمسئولية وبعيداً عن المساعي ذات الطابع الانفرادي.

  • تشارك مصر بشكل إيجابي وفعال في مبادرتيّ (الاتحاد الأفريقي والقرن الأفريقي، الاتحاد الأوروبي والقرن الأفريقي والمعروفة باسم عملية الخرطوم) حول مسارات الهجرة ومكافحة الاتجار في البشر وتهريب المهاجرين بالتعاون مع الدول الأفريقية المعنية في هذا المجال.

  • استضافت مصر المؤتمر الإقليمي الثاني لمبادرة الاتحاد الأفريقي والقرن الأفريقي بمدينة شرم الشيخ في سبتمبر 2015.

  • شاركت مصر بصورة بناءة في إعلان روما في نوفمبر 2014 بشأن مبادرة الاتحاد الأوروبي والقرن الأفريقي حول مسارات الهجرة لمساعدة دول منطقة القرن الأفريقي في مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر وتهريب المهاجرين، حيث استضافت مصر في هذا الإطار الاجتماع المشار إليه للجنة التسيير المنبثقة عن الإعلان في أبريل 2015 بمدينة شرم الشيخ وتم تقديم مجموعة من المشاريع والأفكار الأفريقية للتنمية ومعالجة الأسباب الجذرية للهجرة غير الشرعية.

  • شاركت مصر بفاعلية في عملية التحضير والصياغة في قمة فاليتا حول الهجرة (نوفمبر 2015)، حيث تولت الدفاع عن وجهة النظر الأفريقية باعتبارها رئيساً لمبادرتي الاتحاد الأفريقي – القرن الأفريقي والاتحاد الأوروبي – القرن الأفريقي، بالتنسيق مع مفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقي.

  • تولت مصر رئاسة لجنة التسيير لعملية الخرطوم خلال عام 2014، ثم انتقلت الرئاسة إلي بريطانيا في نوفمبر 2015، وأخيرا إلى إثيوبيا.

  • تشارك مصر في الاجتماعات رفيعة المستوى التي ينظمها المفوض السامي للاجئين حول اللاجئين السوريين، وذلك لتنسيق الدعم للدول المستضيفة لأعداد كبيرة من اللاجئين السوريين (مصر- الأردن- لبنان- العراق- تركيا).

  • تم إدراج مصر - في ضوء استضافتها لعدد ضخم من اللاجئين، بما في ذلك الأشقاء السوريين - ضمن دول خطة الاستجابة والصمود لدول الجوار المستضيفة للاجئين السوريين التي أصدرتها الأمم المتحدة والتي تهدف إلي تحسين أوضاعهم ورفع مستوي ظروفهم المعيشية واستيعابهم في المجتمعات المضيفة لهم.

  • استضافت ​مصر بالأقصر في نوفمبر 2017 المؤتمر الأول من نوعه الذي يضم كافة العمليات التي تتناول مسار الهجرة بين أفريقيا وأوروبا، حيث يركز المؤتمر على مكافحة عمليات تهريب المهاجرين والاتجار في البشر مع التركيز على القصر غير المصحوبين.