Consular Services

Go
 
Homepage > The Ministry > Egyptian Diplomacy Day

Egyptian Diplomacy Day

The Day of the Egyptian Diplomacy 

 

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs celebrates on the 15th of March every year “the Day of the Egyptian Diplomacy”, which corresponds with the re-establishing of the Egyptian Foreign Ministry after the Declaration of Independence from Britain on the 22nd of February 1922. Being the most important aspect of sovereignty and independence, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs had been abolished for seven years after the announcement of the British protectorate over Egypt in 1914 and its work and terms of reference were transferred to the British High Commissioner. On 15 March 1922, the British government informed the states that have had representatives in Cairo that the Egyptian government is "now free to re-inaugurate the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and thus can establish diplomatic and consular representation abroad.”

The historical facts indicates that since the very thinking about establishing what later became the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as early as June 1819, Muhammad Ali gave his directives to "Khawaja Baghos Bek Yousofian to take the post of translator" as a multilingual speaker, who could speak Turkish, Armenian, Greek, Italian and French in order to contact various foreign communities in Egypt and deal with the “outer seas” (as the international community was called at the time), and throughout the era until  the work at the Ministry was resumed After 15th March 1922, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs occupied a special status in the Egyptian government, and remained the most important symbol of national sovereignty and independence. This fact had led to the British decision to abolish the Ministry of Foreign Affairs after announcing the British protectorate over Egypt on 19th December 1914 as a manifestation of dependency on Britain. For the first time, the second Cabinet of Hussein Roushdi was formed without the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the British government enforced that the British High Commissioner becomes the Minister of Foreign Affairs similar to what happened in Tunisia and Morocco.

With the end of the First World War in November 1918 and the outbreak of the 1919 revolution, the issue of re-establishing of the Egyptian Foreign Ministry was raised, as one of the most important aspects of restoring national independence. Talks on re-inaugurating the Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Affairs lasted for three years. The matter was raised on three stages: First, when the British Milner Commission indicated in its report on the meetings of the Egyptian delegation headed by Saad Zaghloul and the Commission on June and August 1920 that: "We realized that all Egyptians, and the Sultan and his ministers in general, were eager to represent their country politically abroad however different their views on other issues are, and they were all reluctant that we had abolished the portofolio of the foreign ministry when we declared the British Protectorate and handed over the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to the British High Commissioner”. The British High Commissioner had already monitored, in a confidential report in December 1918, the increasing aspirations of the Egyptian officials to "replace Turkey as the first Islamic country". Notwithstanding, this first attempt to re-establish the Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Affairs did not take effect as British protectorate continued over Egypt, and the persistence of Britain to keep the management of all external relations in its hands.

The Second phase came Following the British declaration on 26th February 1921 that "the protectorate is an unsatisfactory relationship" between both countries. Though, even in this declaration the resumption of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs was not obtained, for fear that Egypt would have the freedom to communicate with countries competing Great Britain, and concerns that Egypt should attempt to assume its status as a major regional power, the matter which could harm British interests.

Britain insisted not to include the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the formation of Adli Yakan Pasha’s Cabinet, in response to Egypt’s request, in the pretence that "accepting to appoint a Minister for Foreign Affairs for Egypt contradicts the foundations laid by the British Foreign Office for the negotiations". Even when the British Foreign Office agreed on the idea, it restricted this approval with many preconditions, including the approval of Great Britain on all political agreements, which resulted in Egypt’s rejection to the British proposals and postponing the return of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The third phase of attempts came with the resignation of Adli Yakan Pasha’s Cabinet on December 8, 1921. Negotiations to form a new government by Abdel Khalek Tharwat Pasha began, and he insisted in the preamble to his political platform of forming the government that “the British government states frankly and explicitly that it abolishes the protectorate and recognizes the independence of Egypt first of all", and directly following this preamble, the condition "to restore the Foreign Ministry and foreign representation of ambassadors and consuls."

Britain eventually settled to contain Egypt’s openness on the world from outside Egypt instead of restricting the reopening of the Ministry of Foreign internally. This was reflected in the circular sent by the British Government to all its representatives abroad on March 15, 1922 in what Allenby, the British High Commissioner, called "the British Monroe principle" for the British ambassadors to inform the governments to which they are accredited, which included the following:

1- The Egyptian government will have the freedom to re-establish the Ministry of Foreign Affairs as a prelude to the diplomatic and consular representation of Egypt abroad.

2- Great Britain will not extend its protectorate in the future to Egyptian nationals in foreign countries, except to the extent the Egyptian government demands and until Egypt establishes its diplomatic representation in those countries.

3- Ending the British protectorate over Egypt will not affect or change the prevailing status of countries represented in Egypt.

4- The prosperity and integrity of Egypt are essential to the security of the British Empire, and therefore Britain will always keep these special relations since it is for the ultimate British interest.  The British recognition of Egypt's independence and sovereignty has outlined this position.

5- Based on this principle, any attempt from those countries to interfere in the affairs of Egypt will be considered a hostile act. Moreover, any aggression on the Egyptian territories will be punishable by every possible means.

Representatives of foreign countries in Egypt were informed on March 15, 1922 that "the Egyptian government has become free now to re-establish its Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and therefore it could establish diplomatic and consular representation abroad". A circular note was issued on March 16, 1922 directed to representatives of foreign countries in Egypt concerning the appointment of Abdel Khalek Tharwat Pasha as Minister of Foreign Affairs and that any contacts regarding Foreign policy in the future should be directly through him.

The first headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs after its re-establishment was “Al Bustan” Palace in Bab El Louk district in central Cairo.  Abdel Khalek Tharwat Pasha carried on his post as foreign minister with a small group of diplomats, running the work of the ministry for two years with the same administrative system applicable before 1914, until the first decree to organize the Ministry’s departments into 7 departments was issued on 4th August 1923. This was followed by a new regulation on 29 November 1925 to determine the functions of each department and define their filed of competence. Other Decisions and laws then followed, organizing, managing and controlling work in the diplomatic and consular corps, and updated to accommodate with the contemporary developments and increasing demands of the diplomatic and consular work.

In a quick glance of the development of the representation level of foreign missions to the Arab Republic of Egypt, and representation of Egypt abroad, we can notice that the beginning was before 1914, where diplomatic representation was limited to the level of Deputy or Consul General. After the 1922 declaration and until 1936 the level of foreign missions representation in Cairo was restricted to the rank of Minister Plenipotentiary, with Britain against any attempts to raise the level of representation to “Ambassador”. This situation did not change except after reaching the treaty of friendship and alliance between Egypt and Great Britain on 26th of August 1936, which stipulated in its Article II that "henceforth, accredited Ambassadors should represent His Majesty the King of Great Britain in the court of His Majesty the King of Egypt and represent His Majesty the king of Egypt in the court of St James with the applicable methods.”

As for the development in the scale of diplomatic representation, representatives of seventeen countries were in Cairo after the Declaration of Independence in Egypt on February 28, 1922 who were Deputies and Consuls General. This number increased to  26 countries from 1922 until Egypt joined the League of Nations. Then embassies, consulates and offices of regional and international organizations continued to open in Egypt, reaching 240 diplomatic missions today in Cairo, which has become one of the largest centers for receiving diplomatic representation in the world.

As for Egypt’s diplomatic representation abroad, the first steps of Egyptian diplomatic and consular corps abroad began with only four missions until the formation of the necessary calibers of heads of missions and diplomatic and administrative staff. The first royal decree was issued on 24 September 1923 to appoint Extraordinary Delegates and Ministers Plenipotentiaries: Abdul Aziz Ezzat Pasha in London, Mahmoud Fakhri Pasha in Paris, Ahmed Zewaror Pasha in Rome, and the Saif Allah Yousri Pasha in Washington.

With the expansion of Egyptian relations with the world and its growing sophistication, the number of Egyptian representations abroad increased reaching in 1936 about 57 Representations (varying between 23 commissions or embassies, ​​ twelve Consulate General, and twenty-one consulates and one mission). These embassies increased with the strengthening Egyptian Foreign relations, the amplifying Egyptian interests abroad and the increasing numbers of Egyptian expatriates across the globe to reach about 162 embassies, consulates, office of interests and representation offices abroad. The total number of diplomats in Egypt’s missions abroad and the Foreign Ministry headquarters in Cairo is 980 diplomats from all ranks of diplomatic and consular corps, who are internationally recognized for their high and significant skills that befits Egypt’s school of diplomacy, who are appointed in the ministry and dispatched abroad after two stages written and oral tests. They are assisted by financial and administrative highly efficient staff, bringing the total number of employees at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs from different categories (diplomatic, administrative and technical cadres) in and outside Egypt to about five thousand person.


 

Top

الخدمات القنصلية

ذهاب
الصفحة الرئيسية > الوزارة > يوم الدبلوماسية المصرية

يوم الدبلوماسية المصرية

يوم الدبلوماسية المصرية  

 

تحتفل وزارة الخارجية يوم 15 مارس من كل عام بيوم الدبلوماسية المصرية والذي يتوافق مع ذكرى عودة عمل وزارة الخارجية المصرية بعد إعلان الاستقلال عن بريطانيا في 22 فبراير1922 وذلك إثر إلغاء وزارة الخارجية المصرية لمدة سبع سنوات بعد إعلان الحماية البريطانية على مصر عام 1914 باعتبارها أحد أهم مظاهر السيادة والاستقلال وتحويل اختصاصاتها إلى المندوب السامي البريطاني، حيث أبلغت الحكومة البريطانية في يوم 15 مارس 1922 الدول التي كان لها ممثلون في القاهرة بأن الحكومة المصرية قد "أصبحت الآن حرة في إعادة وزارة الخارجية، ومن ثم فإن لها إقامة تمثيل دبلوماسي وقنصلي في الخارج".

وتشير الوقائع التاريخية أنه منذ البدايات الأولى للتفكير في إنشاء ما أصبح فيما بعد وزارة الخارجية، منذ يونيه 1819 حين وجه محمد علي أمراً إلى "الخواجا باغوص بك يوسفيان لتولي وظيفة الترجمان" باعتباره من متحدثي لغات عدة منها التركية والأرمنية واليونانية والإيطالية والفرنسية لتولي الاتصال بالجاليات الأجنبية في مصر والتعامل في بعض الأمور مع "بحر بره" (المجتمع الدولي كما كان يطلق عليه آنذاك)، وحتى استقرار العمل بوزارة الخارجية ما بعد 15 مارس 1922، فقد احتلت الخارجية مكاناً خاصاً في الجهاز الحكومي المصري وتحت أي مسمى كانت تحمله على مر العصور، وظلت رمزاً من أهم رموز السيادة والاستقلال الوطنيين، وهذه الحقيقة هي ما أدت إلى القرار البريطاني بالإصرار على إلغاء وزارة الخارجية ضمن تبعات قرار إعلان الحماية البريطانية على مصر في 19 ديسمبر 1914 كمظهر من مظاهر التبعية لبريطانيا حيث تشكلت لأول مرة وزارة حسين رشدي الثانية بدون وزارة خارجية، وفرضت الحكومة البريطانية أن يكون المندوب السامي البريطاني هو وزير الخارجية أسوة بما تم مع تونس ومراكش.

ومع انتهاء الحرب العالمية الأولى في نوفمبر 1918 واندلاع ثورة 1919 طرح موضوع إعادة وزارة الخارجية المصرية كأحد أهم مظاهر استعادة الاستقلال الوطني، وقد استمر الحوار بين الجانبين على قضية إعادة عمل وزارة الخارجية المصرية ثلاث سنوات. وطرح الأمر على ثلاثة مراحل: الأولى حين أشارت لجنة ملنر في تقريرها عن اجتماعات الوفد المصري برئاسة سعد زغلول واللجنة خلال شهري يونيو وأغسطس 1920 بالنص " أدركنا ونحن في مصر أن المصريين جميعهم، والسلطان ووزراؤه في جملتهم، يرومون أن تمَثل بلادهم سياسياً في الخارج مهما اختلفت آراؤهم في المسائل الأخرى، وكانوا كلهم ممتعضين من إلغائنا منصب وزير الخارجية عند إعلاننا الحماية وتسليمنا وزارة الخارجية إلى المندوب السامي البريطاني". كما سبق أن رصد المندوب السامي البريطاني في تقرير سري له في ديسمبر 1918 نمو طموحات المسئولين المصريين إلى "الحلول محل تركيا كأولى دول العالم الإسلامي"، وإن لم تنجح هذه المحاولة الأولى في إعادة عمل الخارجية المصرية في ظل استمرار الحماية البريطانية على مصر، مع إصرار الجانب البريطاني على أن تبقى إدارة جميع العلاقات الخارجية في يد بريطانية.

الثانية إثر الإعلان البريطاني في 26 فبراير 1921 " أن الحماية علاقة غير مرضية"  بين البلدين، وإن لم يتم في إطار هذا الإعلان إعادة عمل وزارة الخارجية كذلك خوفاً من انفتاح مصر على دول تنافس بريطانيا العظمى، وقلقاً من سعي مصر لتبوأ موقعها كقوة إقليمية كبرى مما قد يضر بالمصالح البريطانية، حيث أصرت بريطانيا على عدم تضمين تشكيل وزارة عدلي باشا يكن وزارة للخارجية وذلك في الرد على طلب تضمينها في التشكيل الوزاري متذرعة " بأن التسليم بتعيين وزير خارجية لمصر يتعارض مع الأسس التي وضعتها وزارة الخارجية البريطانية للمفاوضات"، وحتى حين وافقت الخارجية البريطانية لاحقاً على إعادة وزارة الخارجية قيدت موافقتها بشروط عديدة منها اشتراط الحصول على موافقة بريطانيا العظمى على جميع الاتفاقيات السياسية، مما أدى إلى رفض الجانب المصري الاقتراحات البريطانية وتأجيل عودة وزارة الخارجية.

وجاءت المرحلة الثالثة لمساعي إعادة عمل وزارة الخارجية مع استقالة وزارة عدلي يكن في 8 ديسمبر 1921 بدأت مفاوضات تشكيل حكومة جديدة على يد عبد الخالق ثروت باشا والذي أصر في ديباجة برنامجه السياسي لتشكيل الحكومة على "تصريح الحكومة البريطانية بإلغاء الحماية والاعتراف باستقلال مصر بادىء ذي بدء"، ثم مباشرة "بإعادة وزارة الخارجية وتمثيل خارجي من سفراء وقناصل".

وقد قنعت بريطانيا في نهاية المطاف بأن تسعى إلى إيقاف الانفتاح المصري على العالم من خارج مصر بدلاً من تقييد حركة وزارة الخارجية داخلياً، وهو ما انعكس في الكتاب الدوري الذي أرسلته حكومة لندن إلى كافة ممثليها في الخارج في 15 مارس 1922 فيما أسماه أللنبي " بمبدأ مونرو البريطاني" ليبلغه السفراء البريطانيين إلى الحكومات المعتمدين لديها، وتضمن ما يلي:"

1.    سيكون للحكومة المصرية حرية إعادة إنشاء وزارة للخارجية تمهيداً لتمثيل مصر في الخارج تمثيلاً دبلوماسياً وقنصلياً.

2.    لن تمد بريطانيا العظمى في المستقبل حمايتها على الرعايا المصريين في البلاد الأجنبية إلا في حدود ما تطالبها به الحكومة المصرية وإلى حين تمثيل مصر الدبلوماسي في هذه البلاد.

3.    أن إنهاء الحماية البريطانية على مصر لن يمس الأوضاع القائمة بالنسبة للدول الأخرى في مصر بأي تغيير.

4.    إن رخاء مصر وسلامتها ضروريان لأمن الإمبراطورية البريطانية، ولذلك فإنها ستحتفظ على الدوام بالطابع الخاص للعلاقات بينهما من حيث أن هذا الوضع مصلحة بريطانية قصوى، وقد أوضح الاعتراف البريطاني باستقلال مصر وسيادتها هذا الوضع.

5.    بناء على هذا المبدأ ستعتبر محاولة أي من تلك الدول التدخل في شئون مصر عملاً عدائياً، كما ستعتبر أي عدوان على الأراضي المصرية عملاً تعاقب عليه بكل الوسائل التي تملكها".

كما تم إبلاغ ممثلي الدول الأجنبية في مصر يوم 15 مارس 1922 "أن الحكومة المصرية قد أصبحت الآن حرة في إعادة وزارة الخارجية، ومن ثم فإن لها إقامة تمثيل دبلوماسي وقنصلي في الخارج"، وصدر منشور يوم 16 مارس 1922 موجه لممثلي الدول الأجنبية في مصر بتعيين عبد الخالق ثروت باشا وزيراً للخارجية وبأن اتصالاتهم في المستقبل سوف تتم مباشرة من خلاله.

كان أول مقر لوزارة الخارجية بعد عودتها للعمل هو قصر البستان بحي باب اللوق بوسط القاهرة، واستمر عمل عبد الخالق ثروت وزيراً الخارجية مع مجموعة محدودة في تصريف أعمال الوزارة لمدة عامين على نفس النظام الإداري الساري قبل 1914، حتى تم إصدار أول قرار بتقسيم وتنظيم إدارات وزارة الخارجية في 4/8/1923 إلى 7 أقسام ، تلاه قرار جديد في 29/11/1925 بتحديد اختصاصات إدارات الوزارة وتوزيع الأعمال عليها، ثم توالت بعد ذلك القرارات والقوانين التي أصبحت تحكم العمل في السلك الدبلوماسي والقنصلي ويجري تطويرها بما يتلاءم مع تطورات العصر والمتطلبات المتزايدة والمتنوعة للعمل الدبلوماسي والقنصلي.

وفي لمحة سريعة عن تطور مستوى التمثيل الأجنبي في جمهورية مصر العربية، والتمثيل المصري في الخارج، نشير أن البداية كانت قبل عام 1914 حيث انحصر التمثيل الخارجي في مستوى وكيل أو قنصل عام، ثم بعد إعلان 1922 وحتى عام 1936 توقف مستوى التمثيل للبعثات الأجنبية في القاهرة عند درجة وزير مفوض ووقفت بريطانيا ضد أية محاولات لرفع مستوى التمثيل إلى درجة سفير، ولم يتغير الوضع إلا بعد التوصل إلى معاهدة الصداقة والتحالف بين مصر وبريطانيا العظمى في 26 أغسطس عام 1936 والتي نصت مادتها الثانية على " أنه يقوم من الآن فصاعداً بتمثيل صاحب الجلالة الملك لدى بلاط جلالة ملك مصر وبتمثيل صاحب الجلالة ملك مصر لدى بلاط سان جيمس سفراء معتمدون بالطرق المرعية".

أما بالنسبة لتطور حجم التمثيل الدبلوماسي المتبادل، فقد كان في القاهرة غداة إعلان استقلال مصر يوم 28 فبراير 1922 ممثلون لسبع عشرة دولة بصفتهم وكلاء وقناصل عموميين، تطور خلال الفترة من 1922 حتى انضمام مصر إلى عصبة الأمم إلى 26 دولة، وتوالت بعد ذلك افتتاح السفارات والقنصليات ومكاتب المنظمات الدولية والإقليمية في مصر لتبلغ حالياً 240 بعثة دبلوماسية في القاهرة التي أصبحت واحدة من أكبر مراكز استقبال التمثيل الدبلوماسي في العالم.

وبالنسبة للتمثيل الدبلوماسي المصري في الخارج، فقد بدأت أولى خطوات السلك الدبلوماسي والقنصلي المصري بالخارج بأربع بعثات فقط لحين تشكيل الكوادر اللازمة من رؤساء بعثات وأطقم دبلوماسية وإدارية، حيث صدر أول مرسوم ملكي في 24 سبتمبر عام 1923 بتعيين  مندوبين فوق العادة ووزراء مفوضين: عبد العزيز عزت باشا في لندن، محمود فخري باشا في باريس، أحمد زيور باشا في روما، وسيف الله يسري باشا في واشنطن. 

  ومع اتساع رقعة العلاقات المصرية بالعالم الخارجي وتشعبها تزايدت أعداد الممثليات المصرية في الخارج حيث بلغ عددها في عام 1936 حوالي 57 ممثلية (تنوعت بين 23 مفوضية أو سفارة، واثنتي عشر قنصلية عامة، وواحد وعشرون قنصلية ومأمورية واحدة)، وتزايدت هذه السفارات مع اضطراد العلاقات المصرية الخارجية وزيادة حجم المصالح المصرية وسفر المواطنين المصريين إلى مختلف أنحاء المعمورة لتبلغ حالياً حوالي 162 سفارة وقنصلية ومكتب رعاية مصالح ومكتب تمثيل تابعين لجمهورية مصر العربية في الخارج. ويقدر عدد الدبلوماسيين العاملين بالبعثات المصرية بالخارج وديوان وزارة الخارجية بالقاهرة إجماليا عدد 980 دبلوماسي من كافة درجات السلك الدبلوماسي والقنصلي مشهود لهم دولياً بالمستوى الرفيع والمتميز الذي يليق بالمدرسة الدبلوماسية المصرية، يتم تعيينهم في الوزارة وإيفادهم للخارج عبر مرحلتين مختلفتين من الامتحانات التحريرية والشفوية ويعاونهم في ذلك طاقم مالي وإداري على درجة عالية من الكفاءة، ليبلغ إجمالي عدد العاملين بوزارة الخارجية المصرية من مختلف كوادر الدولة (كوادر دبلوماسية وإدارية وكوادر معاونة) في الداخل والخارج حوالي خمسة ألاف فرد.


 

إلى أعلى